RYCHENBERG
COMPETITION

International Composition Contest

ABOUT THE COMPETITION

In June 2018 the Musikkollegium Winterthur launched an international composition contest in collaboration with the Fotomuseum Winterthur. A total of 191 composers from over 30 countries applied for the competition, from which 85 submitted their compositions. The jury, chaired by the Swiss composer Alfred Zimmerlin, nominated 10 works to be recorded on video by the Musikkollegium Winterthur in August 2019 and published on this website for an online audience voting. The Rychenberg Competition will award prizes worth a total of CHF 100,000.

 

Nominees

Cecilia Arditto Argentina
Cecilia Arditto
Work Title TISSUE
Photo Serie Wounds of violence

Argentinian composer Cecilia Arditto(*1966) was born in Buenos Aires. Having studied music in her native city, she completed her degree "cum laude" at the Academy of Music in Amsterdam, where she has also lived since 2002. She has been awarded several prizes and grants, and her works have been performed in Latin America and the United States as well as Asia and Europe. Música invisible para flauta, for example, has been played by more than twenty flautists, and her new work, Distancia de rescate for eight cellos, will be performed by three different cello octets during the 2018/19 season. Together with the Dutch photographer and guitarist Daniel Nicolas, she focuses on combining visual aspects with musical works. Cecilia Arditto has also worked as a Bikram yoga instructor since 2018, giving courses all over the world.

Photo Daniel Nicolas

Annachiara Gedda Italy
Annachiara Gedda
Work Title Chasing Ice
Photo Serie Find a Way or Make One

Annachiara Gedda(*1986) comes from Turin, where she also studied composition, graduating with a master's degree in 2015. She then attended several master classes given by Luis Bacalov, Mauro Bonifacio, José Manuel López López and Tristan Murail, among others. She has won several national and international composition competitions, and her works have since been performed not only in her Italian homeland, but also in the United States, Germany, Switzerland, Spain, Finland, Bosnia-Herzegovina and Japan. Many of these have been published by Sconfinarte, Bèrben and Zedde, as well as Universal Edition.

Alexandra Karastoyanova-Hermentin Austria
Alexandra Karastoyanova-Hermentin
Work Title Tarsis
Photo Serie Find a Way or Make One

Austrian composer and pianist Alexandra Karastoyanova-Hermentin(*1968) is of Russian and Bulgarian origin, and now lives in Vienna and Telish (Bulgaria). She pursued her musical studies at the Mozarteum Salzburg, the State Academy of Music in Sofia and the Ippolitov-Ivanov Music College in Moscow. She first came to the public's attention in 2007 when her Mahagiony violin concerto was premièred at New York's Carnegie Hall. For the Mozart Year of 2006, the Government of Salzburg commissioned her to compose Annäherung. Other works by the composer have been performed at Vienna's Musikverein, the Megaron Centre in Athens, at the Villa Massimo in Rome, at the Chicago Cultural Center, as well as the Schnittke Institute in Moscow. She has been commissioned to compose works by the Wiener Konzerthaus, the Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation as well as WDR and ORF, among others. As a pianist, Karastoyanova-Hermentin has given solo and ensemble performances in the classical genre as well as premièring works of New Music.

Photo by Stefanie Luger

Sampo Kasurinen Finland
Sampo Kasurinen
Work Title Valo
Photo Serie Find a Way or Make One

The Finnish composer and saxophonist Sampo Kasurinen(*1990) began his musical career as a jazz musician, but now works as a full-time composer and arranger. He studied in Berlin (University of the Arts) and Helsinki (Sibelius Academy), where he is currently completing his master's degree. The emphasis of Kasurinen's compositions lies on works for orchestra and other large-scale ensembles. Sampo Kasurinen first achieved wider recognition in 2012, when he was awarded First Prize at the Finnish Young Nordic Jazz Comets competition with the AR Quartet. Most recently, he won First Prize at the Markku Johanson competition for his composition Tango Sinfonico, and Second Prize at the Puolustusvoimat 100-vuotta competition with Alkusoitto for wind ensemble.

Bileam Kümper Germany
Bileam Kümper
Work Title Three Under-Ice Soundscapes
Photo Serie Find a Way or Make One

Bileam Kümper(*1971) studied Music, Mathematics and German at the Technical University of Dortmund from 1992 to 1998. As an employee of the technology and administration department, his responsibilities have included the sound studio for some years. Previously, he gained extensive experience as a self-employed instrumental teacher, music publisher and lecturer in workshops and seminars (on topics such as electro-acoustic composition, soundscape composition and sound synthesis). His compositions span chamber music, frequently combined with electronics, electronic music and installations. He plays numerous instruments, including the violin, viola and tuba. He has held a post as lecturer at the Technical University of Dortmund since 2009.

Fabian Künzli Switzerland
Fabian Künzli
Work Title Die liegende Sanduhr
Photo Serie Find a Way or Make One

Swiss composer Fabian Künzli(*1984) grew up in the Canton of Thurgau. He has played the clarinet since the age of ten, performing in orchestras as well as several bands (rock, big band, dixie, klezmer). He has worked as a conductor with various wind orchestras, but also with smaller ensembles for film music and other recordings. Having obtained his Master of Arts in Music degree from Zurich University of the Arts in 2010, he completed his master's studies in musical theory in 2012. As a composer, Fabian Künzli has worked for several distinguished orchestras, such as the Musikkollegium Winterthur, the Camerata Zürich, the Brandenburgisches Staatsorchester Frankfurt and various prestigious chamber ensembles. He has also won many prizes at composition competitions, and was awarded a working semester in London by the Landis & Gyr Foundation in 2012. Fabian Künzli was Composer in Residence at the 2013 Orpheum Festtage in Zurich, and holds a part-time teaching position in musical theory at Zurich University of the Arts.

Hiroshi Nakamura Japan
Hiroshi Nakamura
Work Title Nostalgia - Le Voyage intérieur
Photo Serie Find a Way or Make One

Hiroshi Nakamura(*1965) hails from Japan. He was taught composition and attended master classes with Klaus Huber, Brian Ferneyhough and Helmut Lachenmann, among others. He has won prizes at numerous competitions in both his Japanese homeland and Europe – such as the Concorso internazionale di composizione Settimane Musicali di Stresa(2007), the International Prokofiev Competition in St. Petersburg (2008), the New NoteInternational Composers' Competition in Croatia (2015) and the Aargau Composition Competition (2017). His works have been performed by renowned orchestras such as the Tokyo Symphony Orchestra, the New Japan Philharmonic Orchestra, the St. Petersburg State Symphony Orchestra and the Orquestra Simfònica de Barcelona i Nacional de Catalunya.

Simon James Phillips Australia
Simon James Phillips
Work Title Skein
Photo Serie Find a Way or Make One

Simon James Phillips(*1973) comes from Australia and has lived in Berlin since 2008. He received his musical training at the Piteå Musikhögskolan in Sweden (piano  and improvisation), the Australian National University in Canberra (composition) and the Australian Young Conductors and Composers School in Brisbane. He was Composer in Residence at the Teatro Maria Matos, Lisbon, for the 2014/15 season. He has been a guest both as a composer and a pianist at several festivals, including the Bend/Break Festival (Berlin), the Darmstädter Ferienkurse, the Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival, the Jazzfest Berlin and the Sydney International Festival of the Arts. He has performed repeatedly in Australia, Canada, Denmark, Germany, Norway, Poland and Portugal, as well as in the United Kingdom and Switzerland. In his numerous compositions, he attaches special importance to the actual conditions of their performance, and has developed a kind of collaborative composition that encourages the creative participation of the musicians involved.

Valerio Rossi Italy
Valerio Rossi
Work Title ICE_one_h for chamber orchestra
Photo Serie Find a Way or Make One

Valerio Rossi(*1959) comes from Milan, where he learned the clarinet at an early age, taught himself the saxophone at the same time, and also explored the world of art. Having played in various jazz bands as a clarinettist, he began studying composition at the Conservatorio di Musica "Giuseppe Verdi." While studying, he also worked as a copyist for major Italian and foreign publishing houses, as well as for the archives of the Teatro alla Scala. Having obtained his diploma, he won prizes at several composition competitions. Valerio Rossi now devotes himself to composition and painting in equal measure, considering both to be equivalent forms of artistic expression – even if, in his own estimation, it may perhaps make him look "antiquated" in today's world, which is increasingly focused on specialisation.

Verena Weinmann Switzerland
Verena Weinmann
Work Title Hills of Torreón
Photo Serie Wounds of violence

The composer and activist Verena Weinmann (*1994)is from Frauenfeld. She started dancing as small child. At the age of ten, she began taking private piano tuition, which she consolidated with preliminary studies at the Winterthur Academy of Music. Her first composition was written for her high school diploma thesis at the Im Lee Cantonal School in Winterthur. She has participated at the Young Composers Workshop in Boswil on several occasions. She is currently studying composition with Michel Roth at the Academy of Music in Basel. At the beginning of 2015, she became interested in politics and wrote several articles on the subject for the magazine Der Funke. Alongside her studies, Verena Weinmann plays keyboard in the Latin rock band Mondsucher, as well as giving private piano lessons and tuition in musical theory. Her compositions are characterised by the need to create a link to current world affairs and to offer the performers space for their own creativity. Weinmann also has a strong interest in conceptual music, improvisation and the integration of electronic and rock instruments in contemporary music.

Photo by Susanna Drescher

Photo Series

Wounds of Violence Adél Koleszár

Adél Koleszár

Born 1986, Budapest/Hungary, lives and works in Mexico City, adelka.tumblr.com

In her series Wounds of Violence, Adél Koleszár investigates how experiencing violence moulds society and the self. Her photos offer assorted contrasts, such as between illegal mass graves that have been discovered in Mexico and the visible scars of abuse, especially among women.

Download the extended captions.

Eating Magma Elena Aya Bundurakis

Elena Aya Bundurakis

Born 1988, Heraklion/Greece, lives and works in Athens and Antwerp, freethecelery.com

The series Eating Magma engages with nature, fauna, flora, muscle and eating. These pictures directly address our sensory perception, and immediately prompt different emotions on the part of the observer. Form, colour, flesh and corporeality play an important role in Bundurakis’s work, and are depicted in a manner that is both sober and at the same time ambivalent.

Find a Way or Make One Anastasia Mityukova

Anastasia Mityukova

Born 1992, Geneva /Switzerland, lives and works in Geneva, anastasiamityukova.ch

The works in the series find a way or make one challenge the stereotypical view that people have of the Arctic, and how different typologies of images shape the landscape. Using pictures made by webcams and surveillance cameras along with photographs that Mityukova has found at flea markets, she creates her own perspective on this distant place, without ever having been there herself

Download the entire image series incl. captions.

 

PRIZE MONEY

The ten composers whose works are selected for the first round of the Competition (the recording) will be given a recognition prize of CHF 1,000. The composers of the works chosen by the jury to be performed at the Prize Winners’ Concert will be awarded the following prizes:

First place CHF 40’000.–
Second place CHF 25’000.–
Third place CHF 15’000.–
Special prize of the jury CHF 5’000.–
Audience prize CHF 10’000.–

Timing

31
August
2018

Deadline for registration

31
March
2019

Submission of the score (5 hard copies)

30
June
2019

Announcement of the compositions nominated (maximum of ten)

31
July
2019

Submission of the orchestral parts and resubmission of the score (if reworked in the meantime)

End of
August
2019

Recording of the nominated works by the Musikkollegium Winterthur

October
2019

The recorded works will be placed online for the audience vote

31
March
2020

Announcement of the jury’s nominations and the result of the audience vote

9
June
2020

The composers whose works are chosen will travel to Winterthur; beginning of rehearsals for the Prize Winners’ Concert

12
June
2020

Prize Winners’ Concert in Winterthur

BACKGROUND

In the first half of the 20th century, the music patron Werner Reinhart from Winterthur played a fundamental role in the development of the Musikkollegium Winterthur, together with the conductor Hermann Scherchen. Under their auspices, Winterthur became a centre of contemporary music with an impact far beyond the Swiss borders. Composers such as Anton Webern, Arnold Schoenberg, Igor Stravinsky and Richard Strauss worked with the Musikkollegium or composed for it. Composers who have meanwhile slipped somewhat into obscurity also enjoyed the high regard and support of Scherchen and Reinhart – men such as Heinrich Kaminski, Walter Braunfels and Franz von Hoesslin. It was not just composers who visited Winterthur at Reinhart’s invitation, for internationally renowned instrumentalists, singers and conductors also came to the city, often even enjoying Reinhart’s hospitality in his Villa Rychenberg, which today houses the offices of the Musikkollegium Winterthur.
With its “Rychenberg Competition”, the Musikkollegium Winterthur intends to forge a link from that era to the present. This Competition, made possible thanks to the Lottery Fund of the Canton of Zurich, aims to bring composers to Winterthur from all over the world, and at the same time promote Winterthur’s reputation in the broader world as an innovative city of music.

next concerts

Our program overview in chronological order

Ticket desk +41 52 620 20 20 Mon–Fri, 9:00am–noon / 2:00–5:00pm

RYCHENBERG
COMPETITION

International Composition Contest

Über die Competition

Im Juni 2018 lancierte das Musikkollegium Winterthur in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Fotomuseum Winterthur einen internationalen Kompositionswettbewerb. Insgesamt 191 Komponistinnen und Komponisten aus über 30 Länder haben sich für den Wettbewerb angemeldet und 85 davon Kompositionen eingereicht. Die Wettbewerbs-Jury unter dem Vorsitz des Schweizer Komponisten Alfred Zimmerlin hat zehn Kompositionen nominiert, die vom Musikkollegium Winterthur im August 2019 eingespielt und deren Aufnahmen dann für ein Publikumsvoting auf dieser Website veröffentlicht werden. Die Rychenberg Competition vergibt Preisgelder von insgesamt über CHF 100‘000.00.

Nominierte

Cecilia Arditto Argentinien
Cecilia Arditto
Werktitel TISSUE
Fotoserie Wounds of violence

Die Argentinierin Cecilia Arditto (*1966) wurde in Buenos Aires geboren. Ihr Musikstudium absolvierte sie in ihrer Heimatstadt und schloss es anschliessend mit «cum laude» am Konservatorium in Amsterdam ab, wo sie seit 2002 auch lebt. Mehrere Preise und Stipendien wurden ihr zugesprochen, und ihre Werke wurden sowohl in Lateinamerika wie in den USA, in Asien und in Europa aufgeführt. Beispielsweise wurde ihr Stück «Música invisible para flauta» von über zwanzig Flötisten gespielt, und ihr neues Werk «Distancia de rescate» für 8 Violoncelli gelangt in der Saison 2018/19 durch drei verschiedene Cello-Oktette zur Aufführung. Gemeinsam mit dem holländischen Fotografen und Gitarristen Daniel Nicolas widmet sie sich Musikwerken in Verbindung mit visuellen Aspekten. Zudem arbeitet Cecilia Arditto seit 2018 auch als Bikram Yogalehrerin und gibt Unterricht in der ganzen Welt.

Foto: Daniel Nicolas

Annachiara Gedda Italien
Annachiara Gedda
Werktitel Chasing Ice
Fotoserie Find a Way or Make One

Annachiara Gedda (*1986) stammt aus Turin, wo sie auch ihr Kompositionsstudium absolvierte und dieses im Jahr 2015 mit einem Master’s Degree abschloss. Anschliessend besuchte sie mehrere Meisterkurse, u.a. bei Luis Bacalov, Mauro Bonifacio, José Manuel López López und Tristan Murail. Sie ist Gewinnerin mehrerer nationaler und internationaler Kompositionswettbewerbe, und ihre Werke gelangten seither nicht nur in ihrer italienischen Heimat, sondern auch in den USA, in Deutschland, in der Schweiz, in Spanien, Finnland, Bosnien-Herzegowina sowie in Japan zur Aufführung. Mehrere von ihnen wurden von den Verlagshäusern Sconfinarte, Bèrben und Zedde sowie von der Universal Edition veröffentlicht.

Alexandra Karastoyanova-Hermentin Österreich
Alexandra Karastoyanova-Hermentin
Werktitel Tarsis
Fotoserie Find a Way or Make One

Die österreichische Komponistin und Pianistin Alexandra Karastoyanova-Hermentin (*1968) ist russisch-bulgarischer Abstammung und lebt heute in Wien sowie in Telish (Bulgarien). Ihre musikalische Ausbildung absolvierte sie am Mozarteum Salzburg, an der Staatlichen Musikakademie Sofia sowie am Music College Ippolitov-Ivanov Moskau. Erstmals einer breiten Öffentlichkeit wurde sie 2007 bekannt, als ihr Violinkonzert «Mahagiony» in der New Yorker Carnegie Hall uraufgeführt wurde. Zum Mozartjahr 2006 komponierte sie im Auftrag der Salzburger Landesregierung das Werk «Annäherung». Weitere Werke von ihr gelangten u.a. im Musikverein Wien, im Megaron Athen, in der Villa Massimo, im Chicago Cultural Center sowie am Schnittke Institut in Moskau zur Aufführung. Kompositionsaufträge erhielt sie u.a. vom Wiener Konzerthaus, von der Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung sowie vom WDR und ORF. Als Pianistin trat Karastoyanova-Hermentin solistisch und mit Ensembles sowohl im klassischen Bereich als auch bei Uraufführungen Neuer Musik auf.

Foto: Stefanie Luger

Sampo Kasurinen Finnland
Sampo Kasurinen
Werktitel Valo
Fotoserie Find a Way or Make One

Der finnische Komponist und Saxophonist Sampo Kasurinen (*1990) begann seine musikalische Laufbahn als Jazzmusiker, arbeitet heute aber hauptberuflich als Komponist und Arrangeur. Er studierte sowohl in Berlin (Universität der Künste) als auch in Helsinki (Sibelius Akademie), wo er zurzeit seinen Master abschliesst. Das Schwergewicht von Kasurinens Kompositionen liegt auf Werken für Orchester und andere grossbesetzte Ensembles. Erstmals grössere Aufmerksamkeit erhielt Sampo Kasurinen 2012, als ihm der Erste Preis beim finnischen «Young Nordic Jazz Comets»-Wettbewerb mit dem AR Quartet verliehen wurde. In jüngster Zeit gewann er im Herbst 2018 mit seiner Komposition «Tango Sinfonico» den Ersten Preis beim «Markku Johanson»-Wettbewerb sowie mit «Alkusoitto» für Bläserensemble den Zweiten Preis beim «Puolustusvoimat 100-vuotta»-Wettbewerb.

Bileam Kümper Deutschland
Bileam Kümper
Werktitel Three Under-Ice Soundscapes
Fotoserie Find a Way or Make One

Bileam Kümper (*1971) studierte in den Jahren 1992 bis 1998 Musik, Mathematik und Deutsch an der Technischen Universität in Dortmund. Dort ist er seit einigen Jahren als Mitarbeiter in Technik und Verwaltung unter anderem für das Tonstudio zuständig. Zuvor sammelte er jahrelang freiberuflich umfangreiche Erfahrungen als Instrumentallehrer, Musikverleger sowie als Dozent in Workshops und Seminaren (u.a. Elektroakustische Komposition, Soundscape-Komposition, Klangsynthese). Seine Kompositionen umfassen Kammermusik, oft mit Elektronik, Elektronische Musik sowie Installationen. Er spielt zahlreiche Instrumente, darunter Violine, Viola und Tuba. 2009 übernahm er einen Lehrauftrag an der Technischen Universität Dortmund.

Fabian Künzli Schweiz
Fabian Künzli
Werktitel Die liegende Sanduhr
Fotoserie Find a Way or Make One

Der Schweizer Komponist Fabian Künzli (*1984) wuchs im Kanton Thurgau auf. Seit dem zehnten Lebensjahr spielt er Klarinette und wirkte in Orchestern sowie in diversen Bands mit (Rock, Big Band, Dixie, Klezmer). Als Dirigent war er mit verschiedenen Blasorchestern, aber auch mit kleineren Formationen für Filmmusik und andere Aufnahmen tätig. 2010 erlangte er an der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste (ZHdK) den «Master of Arts in Music» und schloss im Jahr 2012 das Masterstudium in Musiktheorie ab. Als Komponist arbeitete Fabian Künzli für mehrere namhafte Orchester wie das Musikkollegium Winterthur, die Camerata Zürich, das Brandenburgische Staatsorchester Frankfurt sowie für verschiedene renommierte Kammerensembles. Ausserdem gewann er mehrere Preise an Kompositionswettbewerben, und im Jahr 2012 erhielt er von der Kulturstiftung Landis & Gyr ein Werksemester in London zugesprochen. Fabian Künzli war Composer-in-Residence der Orpheum Festtage 2013 in Zürich und unterrichtet nebenberuflich Musiktheorie an der ZHdK.

Hiroshi Nakamura Japan
Hiroshi Nakamura
Werktitel Nostalgia - Le Voyage intérieur
Fotoserie Find a Way or Make One

Hiroshi Nakamura (*1965) hails from Japan. He was taught composition and attended master classes with Klaus Huber, Brian Ferneyhough and Helmut Lachenmann, among others. He has won prizes at numerous competitions in both his Japanese homeland and Europe – such as the Concorso internazionale di composizione Settimane Musicali di Stresa (2007), the International Prokofiev Competition in St. Petersburg (2008), the New Note International Composers' Competition in Croatia (2015) and the Aargau Composition Competition (2017). His works have been performed by renowned orchestras such as the Tokyo Symphony Orchestra, the New Japan Philharmonic Orchestra, the St. Petersburg State Symphony Orchestra and the Orquestra Simfònica de Barcelona i Nacional de Catalunya.

Simon James Phillips Australien
Simon James Phillips
Werktitel Skein
Fotoserie Find a Way or Make One

Simon James Phillips (*1973) stammt aus Australien und lebt seit 2008 in Berlin. Seine musikalische Ausbildung erhielt er an er Piteå Musikhögskolan in Schweden (Klavier und Improvisation) sowie an der Australien National University in Canberra (Komposition) und an der Australian Young Conductors and Composers School in Brisbane. 2014/15 war er Composer in residence am Teatro Maria Matos in Lissabon. Sowohl als Komponist wie als Pianist war er Gast bei mehreren Festivals, darunter das Bend/Break Festival (Berlin), die Darmstädter Ferienkurse, das Huddersfield Contemporary Music Festival, das Jazzfest Berlin sowie das Sydney International Festival of the Arts. Wiederholt trat er in Australien, Kanada, Dänemark, Deutschland, Norwegen, Polen, Portugal sowie in Grossbritannien und in der Schweiz auf. In seinen zahlreichen Kompositionen legt er besonderen Wert auf die aktuellen Gegebenheiten einer Aufführung. Dazu entwickelte er eine Art von kollaborativem Komponieren, das die jeweils beteiligten Musiker zur kreativen Mitwirkung auffordert.

Valerio Rossi Italien
Valerio Rossi
Werktitel ICE_one_h for chamber orchestra
Fotoserie Find a Way or Make One

Valerio Rossi (*1959) stammt aus Mailand, wo er schon in jungen Jahren Klarinette lernte, sich parallel dazu das Saxophonspielen autodidaktisch beibrachte und sich zudem auch mit Kunst beschäftigte. Er spielte als Klarinettist in verschiedenen Jazzbands. Dann begann er ein Kompositionsstudium am Conservatorio di Milano Giuseppe Verdi. Während seines Kompositionsstudiums arbeitete er als Kopist für wichtige italienische und ausländische Verlage und im Archiv des Teatro alla Scala. Nach dem Diplomabschluss wurde er Preisträger bei mehreren Kompositionswettbewerben. Heute widmet sich Valerio Rossi zu gleichen Teilen dem Komponieren wie der Malerei, die er durchaus als äquivalente künstlerische Ausdrucksformen einschätzt ‒ auch wenn er dadurch in der heutigen Welt, die immer stärker nur auf Spezialisierung hin angelegt ist, nach seinem eigenen Dafürhalten vielleicht etwas «altertümlich» aussehen mag.

Verena Weinmann Schweiz
Verena Weinmann
Werktitel Hills of Torreón
Fotoserie Wounds of violence

Die Komponistin und Aktivistin Verena Weinmann (*1994) stammt aus Frauenfeld. Schon als Kleinkind begann sie zu tanzen; mit zehn fing sie an, privat Klavierunterricht zu nehmen, den sie dann im Rahmen eines Vorstudiums am Konservatorium Winterthur intensivierte. Ihre erste Komposition entstand als Maturarbeit an der Kantonsschule Im Lee in Winterthur. Sie nahm mehrmals am «Young Composers Workshop» in Boswil teil. Zurzeit studiert sie Komposition bei Michel Roth an der Musikhochschule in Basel. Anfang 2015 begann sie sich zudem für Politik zu interessieren und schrieb einige Artikel für die Zeitschrift «Der Funke». Neben dem Studium spielt Verena Weinmann in der Latin-Rock-Band «Mondsucher» am Keyboard und unterrichtet privat Klavier und Musiktheorie. Ihre Kompositionen sind geprägt vom Bedürfnis, damit eine Verbindung zum aktuellen Weltgeschehen herzustellen und den beteiligten Interpreten Raum für eigene Kreativität zu lassen. Zudem interessiert sie sich stark für konzeptuelle Musik, Improvisation sowie die Integration elektronischer Instrumente und Geräte aus dem Rock in die zeitgenössische Musik.

Foto: Susanna Drescher

Fotoserien

Wounds of Violence Adél Koleszár

Adél Koleszár,

*1986, Budapest/HU, lebt und arbeitet in Mexiko-City, adelka.tumblr.com

In der Serie Wounds of Violence geht Adél Koleszár der Frage nach, wie das Erleben von Gewalt die Gesellschaft und das Selbst formen. Die Fotografien kontrastieren unter anderem aufgedeckte illegale Massengräber mit der Landschaft Mexikos und den sichtbaren Narben des Missbrauchs vor allem bei Frauen.

Download ausführliche Beschriebe zu den Fotografien.

Eating Magma Elena Aya Bundurakis

Elena Aya Bundurakis

*1988, Iraklio/GR, lebt und arbeitet in Athen und Antwerpen, freethecelery.com

In der Serie Eating Magma geht es um Natur, Fauna und Flora, Muskelfleisch und Essen. Die Bilder zielen direkt auf die sensorische Wahrnehmung und lösen beim Betrachten unverzüglich verschiedene Sinneseindrücke aus. Form, Farbe, Fleisch und Körperlichkeit spielen in Bundurakis Werken eine wichtige Rolle und werden in einer nüchternen und gleichzeitig ambivalenten Art und Weise dargestellt.

Find a Way or Make One Anastasia Mityukova

Anastasia Mityukova

*1992, Genf/CH, lebt und arbeitet in Genf, anastasiamityukova.ch

Die Werke der Serie find a way or make one hinterfragen die stereotypische Sicht auf die Arktis und wie verschiedene Typologien von Bildern eine Landschaft formen. Mit Ansichten von Webcams, Überwachungskameras und Fotografien, die Mityukova auf dem Flohmarkt gefunden hat, kreiert sie eine eigene Betrachtungsweise dieses fernen Ortes, ohne je selbst vor Ort gewesen zu sein.

Download der Fotoserie inkl. Beschrieb.

Preisgelder

Die zehn für die erste Runde des Wettbewerbs (Einspielung) ausgewählten Komponistinnen und Komponisten erhalten einen Anerkennungspreis in der Höhe von CHF 1000.–. Die Komponistinnen und Komponisten der vier für das Preisträgerkonzert ausgewählten Werke erhalten folgende Preisgelder:

Erstplatziertes Werk CHF 40’000.–
Zweitplatziertes Werk CHF 25’000.–
Drittplatziertes Werk CHF 15’000.–
Sonderpreis der Jury CHF 5’000.–
Publikumspreis CHF 10’000.–

Timing

31.
August
2018

Anmeldefrist für den Wettbewerb

31.
März
2019

Abgabe der Partitur (5 Exemplare in Papierform)

30.
Juni
2019

Bekanntgabe der nominierten Beiträge (maximal zehn)

31.
Juli
2019

Abgabe der Orchesterstimmen und allfällig überarbeiteten Partitur

Ende
August
2019

Einspielung der nominierten Beiträge durch das Musikkollegium Winterthur

Oktober
2019

Die eingespielten Beiträge werden online gestellt für das Publikums-Voting

31.
März
2020

Bekanntgabe der Nominierungen der Jury und des Publikums-Votings

09.
Juni
2020

Anreise der eingeladenen Komponistinnen und Komponisten nach Winterthur, Probenbeginn für das Preisträgerkonzert

12.
Juni
2020

Preisträgerkonzert in Winterthur

Hintergrund

In der ersten Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts prägte der Winterthurer Musikmäzen Werner Reinhart gemeinsam mit dem Dirigenten Hermann Scherchen die Geschicke des Musikkollegiums Winterthur wesentlich. Unter ihrer Ägide wurde Winterthur zu einem Zentrum der zeitgenössischen Musik, dessen Pulsschlag weit über die Schweizer Grenzen hinaus wahrnehmbar war. Komponisten wie Anton Webern, Arnold Schönberg, Igor Strawinsky oder Richard Strauss komponierten für und musizierten mit dem Musikkollegium Winterthur. Auch mittlerweile eher vergessene Künstler wie Heinrich Kaminski, Walter Braunfels oder Franz von Hoesslin genossen die Wertschätzung und Unterstützung Scherchens und Reinharts. Nicht nur Komponisten, auch Interpreten und Dirigenten von Weltruf kamen auf Einladung Reinharts nach Winterthur und logierten nicht selten bei ihm in der Villa Rychenberg, dem heutigen Sitz des Musikkollegiums Winterthur. 
An diese Zeiten knüpft das Musikkollegium Winterthur mit der „Rychenberg Competition“ an. Mit dem durch den Lotteriefonds des Kantons Zürich ermöglichten Wettbewerb will es Komponistinnen und Komponisten aus aller Welt nach Winterthur bringen und gleichzeitig den Ruf Winterthurs als innovativer Musikstadt in die Welt hinaustragen.

Die nächsten Konzerte

Unsere Programmübersicht in chronologischer Reihenfolge

Ticketkasse +41 52 620 20 20 MO–FR, 9.00–12.00 / 14.00–17.00 Uhr